Getting to Know Selina Prince

Photo By: Angela Leisure Photography

Photo By: Angela Leisure Photography

**Special Thanks to Angela Leisure Photography on Selina's feature 
photo above!**

What inspired you to start burlesque?
I have always loved dancing and have always wanted to be a performer, but it was always something I saw as a dream and not something that would ever be a reality.  I was too shy or busy in high school, then occupied with college, being married, having kids.  The idea has been there for a long while in the back of my mind, but there was always something in the way.  I would tell myself, “Oh you can do that after you lose 20 pounds” or “After you have a better job” etc.  At the begininning of this year, I just finally hit a point where I decided that if I wanted to do the things that I loved then I was going to have to start doing them NOW!  I was never going to be the perfect weight or have the perfect job or the perfect amount of money.  I started looking around on google for Indianapolis Burlesque and I really like Katie Angel’s message that “Real is Sexy”.  Katie was also one of the only people to respond.  They were getting ready to do auditions for
Miss Honey B’s Bourbon Boylesque the next day, and even though I was scared to death, I showed up and the rest is history.

How did you come up with your first routine?
The first routine I came up with was actually the second routine that I performed, which touches on another question. The very first routine I thought up was “Dark Magic” to Katie Perry’s “Dark Horse”.  I actually found that song on ITunes waaaaay before it became popular and super over played.  I thought that song was catchy and fun.  I love a wide variety of music from pop to metal!  I thought that in order to be able to start burlesque, I was going to need a routine to audition with, so that’s why I created “Dark Magic”.  I actually did not need to have a routine prepared so that got shelved into the back of my brain.  When Nerdgasm started coming around, I happened to think up my Mad Hatter routine.  I usually get ideas for my numbers by songs.  I will hear a song and think, “Wow, that would be great for….”.  And I was listening to Nine Inch Nails, heard the song “Into the Void” and knew that it would be a perfect fit for that character (especially
since i love Alice in Wonderland).  “Dark Magic” ended up being the routine I did for the Showgirl Showcase because I was having issues with a tendon injury and needed something fast because i wasn’t sure of my ability to perform, which is why I ended up using the one I had originally worked out in my head.  Sooooooo, long story short, music is usually what drives my routines!  I listen and sample out all kinds of music, new and old, and think about what the music makes me feel.

selinaprince2

Photo By: Angela Leisure Photography

What is the inspiration behind your stage name?
Selina is from cat woman’s alter ego name, Selina Kyle.  Prince is from wonder woman’s alter ego name, Diana Prince.  I am a bit of a nerd, I love comic books and super heroes.  And my personality in general is kind of a split personality, part good girl, part bad girl.  I thought it was the perfect mix!

How long have you been doing burlesque?
I have only been doing burlesque since January of 2014, or at least that’s when i became involved!

How have you changed, onstage and backstage in that time?
I have learned in life that experience is the ultimate teacher.  I have watched many different people perform burlesque since I started, I have taken classes and absorbed as much information as I can.  All of these things are super valuable, but actually performing is what has taught me the most.  Nerdgasm was probably the most influential, because it gave me the opportunity to perform the same thing over and over again.  Doing that allows you to become less nervous, to change and tweak your numbers, to see how different audiences effect your performances.  I still love burlesque and I am still the same weird, awkward, overly excited lunatic as I have always been!  I try to be mindful of others backstage and not rub my weirdness on them (at least not too much!).  But I just think that I have grown in confidence in my skills and i look forward to trying new things and growing even more.

Why in the world did you pick such a tired, overplayed song for your Dark Magic routine?
LOL—the answer is up above….but I seriously cracked up when I read this!!!  They did play the fuck out of this song, which is quite irritating because my idea came BEFORE they screwed it up by over playing this on the radio!!!

selinaprince1What tips can you give aspiring performers?
Go see burlesque shows and take classes and start listening to music or whatever it is that inspires your creativity and then just get out there and do it!  The only person that is holding you back is you!

A lot of the performers are often asked, what does What’s been your most memorable onstage moment?
Probably when my music just stopped dead on me.  In my mind I was thinking, “holy shit!” But I just kept going!  It has happened twice now, so I think that song is cursed…probably because it’s so tired and over played!!!!!  LOL!

Any embarrassing moments? 
The time that my pastie came off in “Night of the Dancing Flames” for the DK show.  I actually noticed that it came off, and I was responsible for getting the red cloth and walking across the front of the stage!

Why can’t you keep pasties on?!
I KNOW!  I think my nipples just need to see everyone!!!  Actually, it was just not using strong enough glue.  Which sucks, because I have to choose between glue that doesn’t hold well enough and I flash the people of Indianapolis, or glue that’s so strong that it feels like it’s ripping my nipples off when I remove the pasties!!!  My poor nips!

What’s your favorite part of burlesque?
My favorite part is honestly the people.  The people who do it and the people who come and see it.  I have met some of the most wonderful people ever being a part of this fabulous hobby!  If I wasn’t able to ever perform again (which would be terribly sad), I would still be incredibly blessed to have met all the awesome people I have met through burlesque.

Photo: Angela Leisure Photography

Photo: Angela Leisure Photography

Are there any parts of burlesque you loathe?
Loathe is a harsh word.  I love burlesque and wouldn’t do it if i didn’t enjoy it.  But the part I don’t like is kind of odd.  I LOVE being dressed up in costume, but I kind of dread the actual process of putting it all on.  Finding all the things and hauling all the things and remember all the things.  Putting on the contacts and eye lashes and all the make up and the glitter and the panty hose and glueing myself in and safety pinning it all to perfection….sometimes that process is just EXHAUSTING to even think about.  But the final product…that I LOVE and I LOVE performing and all the other things that come along.

Tell us about your muggle job.
I am a preschool teacher!!!  I know that’s probably weird for some people, but I don’t see anything wrong with it.  What I enjoy in my personal life and what I enjoy in my professional life are two seperate things entirely.  I wanted to be a teacher when I was in high school, it’s what I went to college for and I have been an educator in one form or another for 15+ years now.  I have been a zoo mobile educator, a volunteer coordinator, a director, a substitue teacher….all kinds of things.  I am really enjoying working with the younger kids right now.  I have a lot of freedom and flexibility with my lesson planning and the experiences I can give them.  My job is never boring!!!

If you could time travel with no consequences, where and when would you go?
I think ancient Greece, Rome and Egypt are all fascinating places.

If you could have lunch with any three people, past or present, who would you pick?
I love to laugh, so I would go to lunch with Louis C.K., Jimmy Fallon, and Robert Downey Jr. (he’s just sexy but I imagine him having a sense of humor)

If you could have dessert with any three people, past or present, who would you choose?  
I would pick fascinating women to go have dessert with.  Betty Paige, Amelia Earhart, and Ellen DeGeneres!

What is your perfect Jeopardy board (6 topics that you’d kick ass in)?
Animal Kingdom, Food, Harry Potter, Education, Mythology, Movies

Would you prefer to fly or be invisible?  Why?
What fun is being invisible…no one could see you or talk to you!!  Definitely flying!!  Imagine how fast you could get places.  No more airlines!!! FABULOUS!!!

Find Selina Prince on Facebook!

What’s Selina and the rest of the Angels up to? Find out here!

Leave a Reply

